How to Blog

My first answer to this question was simply don’t. I don’t have a satisfactory answer for why this was my first answer. I was probably wrapped up in the mindset that blogging was stupid and people who did it were self-absorbed and why on earth would you blog about your life when you could go out and live it? Now, I clearly don’t believe any of that is true (I’m making a blog and working on it right now), but that was my belief a couple of years ago. Things change, as they should.

My second answer to this question was another question: why? Even though I had accepted blogging as a thing and no longer believed it was driven by the need to talk about themselves, I didn’t understand why you would write about your life instead of live it. But I gave it some thought. It was probably like Let’s Plays, which is a thing I enjoy. And if I enjoy watching other people play video games, then I really can’t rag on someone else for reading about other people’s lives. I was starting to gather an understanding as to why the blogger was blogging though. It wasn’t about being self-absorbed or needing attention, it was an outlet. Sometimes there are just things that build and build and build and you just need to write something about it. Talking is a wishy-washy thing for me as a writer, I communicate better with written words and I always will. I completely understand that talking doesn’t help. Sometimes, you need to write everything out on the page in an angry mass or a happy mass. I could understand that. I still can.

So flash forward to today, where I’m sitting here writing my first ever blog post about blog posts and wondering what on earth I’m trying to accomplish.

And I still don’t have an answer to the title question. I’ve got some ideas. But an answer? No.

I don’t think there’s a right or a wrong way to blog. I don’t think there’s a yes or a no when it comes to blogging. It’s all about self-expression and freedom of speech. It’s talking about what’s important to you and connecting to other who also value what you value. I think that’s why blogging started. It was a group of people reaching out at the same time, wanting a connection they couldn’t find in their current life settings.

It’s one of those beautiful little things about modern day life.

I can’t say I regret not making a blog earlier, I don’t. But I don’t regret making one now. It’s going to be a bit of an adventure, and I don’t mind that. This last month has already been an adventure, but that’s a whole other topic for a whole other blog.

 

Leave a Reply

