Stealing Inspiration

Inspiration to write can often be one of the hardest things a writer faces. There’s just nothing to write about.

For me, a blank word document, half-finished tea, and ‘never the right music’ have become staples of my ‘lack of inspiration’ periods. And trust me, they suck ass. Even when I’m trying to work on a project, it just seems like I’ve got nowhere to go. I’ll have plenty of places and ideas in my head, but putting it on paper? Just not happening.

It’s a form of writer’s block, I think. This complete lack of being able to write anything at all.

But here’s the catch, you can do something about it. Least, this is what works for me.

Steal something. Steal it loud and proud and twist it into something different. I love using photographs, drawings, or paintings as my inspiration. I’m a highly visual person, so those sorts of things can really spur me into writing something. I’m also a fan of quotes (not particularly written writing prompts or single words, they tend ┬áto bother me more often than not). Finding something to inspire you can work wonders when you’re suffering a block, even if it means turning away from your main project.

Even working on something else for a night can be enough to get you back into the main project groove.

If you can’t find anything online (images, art, text, quotes, etc) that throw that writing spark at you, get a little personal. Sometimes the reason why you’re blocked is because there’s something going on in your life that’s blocking you. Write it out. It doesn’t need to be a short story for publication or a memoir (unless you want it to be), but writing it out can seriously help. It gets rid of all that blocked up feeling.

I know a script writer who bases her plays on things she can’t figure out. She wrote a fantasy play where Prince Charming was beating up Cinder because she couldn’t figure out why her friend with a good job and supportive friends wouldn’t leave an abusive relationship. So she wrote a play about it, trying her hardest to see what the hell was going on in both of their heads.

It worked for her. Sometimes, introspection is the best way to get through a block. Deep down, there are things for you to write, even if you can’t write them yourself.

Here’s some things that helped me through some blocks, maybe it’ll help you:

  • “And so I decided I was going to kill the moon.” – my shower thoughts
  • “The air I breathe in a room empty of you is unhealthy.” – John Keats
  • “When you do what you fear most, then you can do anything.” – Stephen Richards
  • 3554a0d5d5f29bce349b79830a91c2c4
  • “I think hell is something you carry around with you, not somewhere you go.” -Neil Gaiman
  • finishthestory-001
  • girlwithrifles

Keep writing my friends!

Leave a Reply

