Mr. Billy, an adult picture book

So I apologize this post wasn’t released on Friday. I ended up spending a night in the hospital and have been recovering since. That being said, I have recovered and everything should be back on schedule as usual. A flash fiction story will be posted this Friday for you and blogs will resume as normal afterwards.

To the point of this blog, I’m here to tell you all about my current project: Mr. Billy. Have a blurb.

Abby always played in the woods behind her house, among the birtch trees and the bramble bushes. Her dad told her to be careful and she always was. Until she stumbled across Mr. Billy. He dripped ink from his finger tips and fed her candy canes in the summer and promised to take her nightmares away if she let him be her friend.

So she did, because she was tired of dreaming of all her teeth falling out. 

Mr. Billy said he would take the bullies in her class away to a place where no one would find them, not even God. They were friends, and friends needed to stick up for each other.

And they went missing, child by child. Abby heard her dad whisper to her mom about the things the police found in the woods behind her house. Terrible things, tiny teeth and bones with ribbions of red flesh. Things that came from the other little boys and girls that went missing.

But Mr. Billy told her not to worry. It was just a game of hide and seek and God was the seeker.

What is Mr. Billy? 

Mr. Billy is a horror story of about 10,000 words. I’m still in the first few drafts of the story, so it’s subject to change. It focuses on Abby, a young second grader, and a friend she finds in the woods named Mr. Billy. It’s a dark tale focused on showing how the innocence of youth is a dangerous thing and how parents, no matter how hard they try, can’t always be a shield of protection. I’m looking at sometime 2017 to publish it.

A picture book for adults?

First off, who doesn’t like beautiful artwork in their stories? Works by Brom, such as Lost Gods and The Child Thief, are absolutely wonderful twisted tales with illustrations. My goal with Mr. Billy is to have a short story for adults with beautiful illustrations, much like Brom’s work. There’s four concept images for the main story so far, exluding the cover art. Here’s the concept for the cover:

 

c981eca61ff5122f31e8b198803d10fe437a88a80fb448b1ccpimgpsh_fullsize_distr

This is going to be the style for the story. The art will be done traditionally, most probably painted with acrylics before being scanned. The book will include a terrifying story and hauntingly beautiful illustrations.

Why this project? 

Mr. Billy actually has a huge place in my heart. I fell in love with the story and the characters while writing it and knew this was something I needed to keep ‘for myself’. I also knew I needed full creative freedom for this piece, which is why I’m self-publishing instead of going the traditional route.

Now, I usally publish horror under the pen name ‘George Spisak’. As you can see on the cover art, I’m using the name ‘Kyra Spisak’ for this horror piece. There’s a reason for that. This story will be one of the few horror pieces to be published under Kyra Spisak because I am working on it with my grandfather. It’s a project between the two of us with me as the writer and him as the artist.

He may have told me my pen name is stupid and I may have decided it wasn’t worth the explaination or the agrument.

I’ll be updating you guys on the project at least once a month so that everyone is on the same page. I’m seriously pumped about this, and I’m hoping you guys will fall in love with Mr. Billy just like I have. More information will be coming along as the project developes and expands, so stay tuned!

3 thoughts on “Mr. Billy, an adult picture book

  1. This is one I’m particularly looking forward to reading. I understand your decision to self-publish and avoid having an editor’s demands force you to remove anything from your story deemed too objectionable or intense. I’ll be watching for updates.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. That’s the main reason why I decided to look into self-publishing on this one. That, and it’s a lot easier to put artwork into a book and sell it when you control the book. It would take me a hell of a long time to find a publisher for it since I already have illustrations and cover art set up.
      It’s going through another round of edits and will actually end up being longer than I originally intended. I’m going for a literal adult picture book feel. Hopefully I’ll have a better update for you next month 🙂 My writing challenge has me really strained at the moment.

      Liked by 2 people

Leave a Reply

